top of page
  • Writer's pictureShruti Sahai

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) By Mindy Kaling



“There is no sunrise so beautiful that it is worth waking me up to see it.”

This was one of my first experiences with an audio book and I am so glad it was “Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me”because Mindy herself has narrated the book in her own warm and hilarious manner and it was such a delight!

I started listening to the book on my commute back from work and I have to say, Mindy’s quirky voice recounting these essays is a perfect way to unwind on a stressful day! Also, I realized listening to it at work was not the best idea, because I was giggling to myself the whole time it was on. The tone of the essays is almost conversational, like chatting with a friend over coffee.

Mindy chronologically recalls stories from her childhood, her days being bullied in high school to moving away to college to starting her career. She narrates these journeys with sometime serious and mostly funny sketches, which was inspiring and had me laughing out loud or just smiling to myself throughout.

Through many of the anecdotes about her life in New York, I felt like I was binging on episodes of “The Mindy Project”. How her boss overhearing her subway experience led to a private car service for was so amusing. It was great to hear the snippets of her work starting out as a theater actor, a writer at SNL and Office. I have to admit I haven’t watched an episode of the Office yet, but after reading about the show and her character I think I just might have to start now.

“Always Wear Flats and Have Your Friends Sleep Over: A Step-by-Step How-To Guide for Avoiding Getting Murdered”

Many of her chapters consist of lists, which I felt was refreshing and really enjoyed. To list a few; “Best friends rights and responsibilities” – had me smiling throughout! “Franchises I would like to reboot” - I think its safe to say that Mindy predicted the making of Ghostbusters with an all female cast and Ocean’s 8, with her being one of 8 incredible women. “The exact level of fame I want” – hilarious! And “My favorite 11 moments in comedy”.

This book was heart-warming and pleasant. Would recommend it to anyone thinking of giving audio books a try. However, as much as I enjoyed Mindy narrating her life through these entertaining stories, I think I’m going to pick up the physical copy for her 2ndbook.

“This book will take you two days to read. Did you even see the cover? It’s mostly pink. If you’re reading this book every night for months, something is not right.”




62 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page