top of page
  • Writer's pictureShruti Sahai

The Joy of Gifting Books :)

Updated: Jun 29, 2020


I have always believed that you can never go wrong with gifting someone a book. It's not like one genre fits all, there’s something for everyone, at every age! Personally, books are my first go-to present to give, especially if I know someone who appreciates the magic of literary words. More often than others, these random waves of giving a book to someone happens without occasion at all; simply because I’ve come across a book they might like, or I’ve gotten really excited about a book and have to immediately share it with someone. One thing I love doing is, gifting books to children (of all ages); I would like to believe this is my way spreading the joy of reading and opening the world of infinite character and stories to their young minds.


As much as I have enjoyed sharing these new found books i’ve read in the last couple of years. I realised how fitting it is gifting books during this quarantine. No better way to take a break from the current state of affairs than picking up a book for a few minutes or a couple of hours and just getting lost in it.


Along with sending some fun books for my nephews (including a 2 month old :P) and niece this lockdown, I sent one to my bookworm friend. To try something different, my friend and I decided to do a book exchange. We would pick a completely new book from the genre of our choosing and send it across. We did pick rather accurately; now I have a new murder mystery to read and my friend got the quirky fun book she wanted. This swap got us a little excited and some new books to read. Would suggest you try this with your bookworm friends, or generally just send a book and make someone’s day with a little surprise that puts a smile on their face.

Sharing a few personal recommendations of different genre of books that you can gift someone or even yourself! I definitely have loved picking these out for others and myself.


Fiction for the Bookworms-

  • The Storied Life of A J Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin

  • The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

  • The Strange Library by Haruki Murakami

  • Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman

  • All the Light we Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

Celebrity Memoirs-

  • Mrs. Funnybones by Twinkle Khanna

  • The Perils Of Being Moderately Famous by Soha Ali Khan

  • The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo by Amy Schumer

  • Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? By Mindy Kaling

  • Yes Please by Amy Poehler

Light Non-Fiction Books- (From the few I’ve read and gifted)

  • The Little Book of Sloth Philosophy by Jennifer McCartney

  • The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck by Mark Manson

  • The Little Book of Otter Philosophy by Jennifer McCartney

  • Barking Up the Wrong Tree by Eric Barker

Coffee Table Books-

  • Humans of New York 1 & 2 by Brandon Stanton

  • An Uncommon Man by R K Laxman

  • Whiskey in Teacup by Reese Witherspoon

  • Life: The Classic Collection

Books to Keep You Busy-

  • Wreck This Journal by Keri Smith

  • Adult Colouring Books (No, I’m not kidding!)

  • One Line A Day Journals (for the writers)


88 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page